Tunes for Tuesday: Groove is in the Heart, by Deee Lite
Serious as a (silent) heart attack

Be a part of Commitment Day and do a 5K

Commitment dayLife Time Fitness wants 300,00 people in more than 30 cities to start 2013 off with a commitment to fitness, and that's why it is launching Commitment Day around the country.

Kicking off the new year with a bunch of joyous exercisers sounds like an awesome activity. Certainly better than slogging through the day with a hangover. The 5K-run/walk event will take place in 35 cities on Jan. 1, 2013 at 11 a.m. ET, 10 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. MT and 8 a.m. PT. (That's right, East Coasters, we can sleep in a bit!) Everyone will start the year off on the same foot.

Carol and I will be taking part in the Miami Commitment Day and you can take part, too. If you sign up for the 5K this Friday, you can get 50 percent off the registration price (regularly $39), by using discount code CDBF2012 when you register. If you don't register on Friday, you can still save $5 on registration by using discount code CORP0598.

You can also connect with Commitment Day on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Disclosure: Life Time provided Commitment Day registration to Shrinking Sisters.